UC-ONE Clients: Android Phone
Menu

Android Phone - Get Started

About Placetel UC-One Communicator for Android

Placetel UC-One for Android provides the following communication features:

  • Instant Messaging and Presence (IM&P)
  • Voice Calling (VoIP)
  • Voice Calling (Circuit Switched)
  • Video Calling
  • Placetel Call Settings

Get Started

In order for a user to operate the client, both the service provider or customer administrator and the user must enable features in the MyPhone dashboard.

The email content is customizable and can be turned off if desired.

End User Steps to Activate Service

Before the client can be functional in a circuit switched environment, the Mobility feature must be activated using either of these options:

  1. Using the MyPhone dashboard. This method is required if the user has not logged into the dashboard previously.
  2. Using the UC - Mobile client. This option is used only if the user has already logged into the MyPhone dashboard at least once and reset the temporary, initial password.

See the Placetel UC- Mobile Quick Start Guide for instructions on initial client setup

Activate the MyPhone Dashboard

Users log in to their MyPhone dashboard and update their password from the temporary password initially provided (follow the normal login procedures as shown in the MyPhone User Guide). The user then enables the Mobility feature via the MyPhone User Dashboard . Within the MyPhone page,

  • Add the mobile number in the My Number tab.
  • Enable the Mobility feature form the Mobile App section of the in the My Features tab.

    Retrieve the UC - Mobile client username from the My Features tab or from the mobile client welcome email.

The user’s UC- Mobile Client password will be the same as the user’s MyPhone password

Links to download the client are available in both the email sent to the user, as well as in the My Features tab. The user will now need to download the iOS client from the Apple App Store and the Android client from Google Marketplace.

Once the client is downloaded and user signed in, the user will be ready to use the client.

Activate Using UC-One Android Phone client at initial login

For an end user that has previously logged into the MyPhone dashboard and reset the temporary password, that user may download and install the UC - Mobile client by using the links provided in the mobile client welcome email.

Once the client is downloaded and user signed into, the user will be prompted to configure the Mobility Feature, setting Alert Click to Dial, Phones to ring, and Answer Confirmation.

Main Tabs

When you start UC-One Android Phone for the first time, your Contacts list is empty. You use the search field to find people and add them to your Contacts list. Contacts can also be added manually by tapping the Add button.

Icon Description
Contacts – View your contacts from a Buddies list, or a local or company directory.
Chat – View Chat History.
Dial Pad – Make call.
History – View incoming, outgoing, and missed calls.
MyRoom – Join your personal room.

The main view contains a number of tabs that present information about the contacts and communications options located on the top bar:

  • Contacts
  • Chat
  • Dial Pad
  • History
  • MyRoom

Seamless Call Handover for VoIP Calls

Starting with Release 22.1, Communicator for Android Mobile and Tablet clients support seamless call handover for VoIP calls between WiFi and cellular data networks.

If the data connection drops during an ongoing VoIP call, then the application tries to use anther data connection, if available, or waits for a configurable period of time, (for example, one minute) for the data connection to be re-established. At that point, the call is retried on the new or re-established connection.

During the transition, there is a beeping sound played to the user and an indication in the user interface that the application is trying to reconnect the call.

Note that if a user has multiple ongoing calls, only the active calls are retrieved after restoring the data connection and the other calls are terminated. In which case, the user is notified about the terminated calls.


Hat Ihnen dieser Artikel weitergeholfen?
Bewerten Sie Ihn:

Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung.

Direktzugriff

Ticket eröffnen Status Kontakt Remote-Support