UC-ONE Clients: iPad
Menu

iPad - Contacts

Contacts

The Contacts list in Contact tab can contain different types of contacts as follows:

  • Presence-enabled contacts
  • Non-presence-enabled contacts
    Any contact can be marked as a favorite and it appears at the top of the Contacts list in the Favorites section.

Presence-enabled contacts are users with an Extensible Messaging and Presence Protocol (XMPP) address. These can be other UC-Tablet users or users from federated systems such as Google Talk. Non-presence-enabled contacts can be phone or conference numbers.
Contacts can also be organized in Groups.

The Contacts tab contains:

  • Contact (Buddy) list
  • Local contacts
  • Directory contacts

Directory provides the company directory contacts. The Local contact list provides the contacts from the local phone book.

Contact Card

The contact card displays information about a contact based on the contact type. This includes UCTablet contacts, Local address book contacts, and contacts from directory search results.

The user can initiate a call or chat session directly from the contact card. This includes joining another contact’s MyRoom or dialing a MyRoom audio bridge from a directory contact search result.

Add Contacts

When you sign in for the first time, there are no contacts on your Contacts list. Add a new presenceenable contact at any time by selecting the option Add Contact from the plus icon in the navigation bar. Another way to add new contacts is to use the directory search option from the Contacts tab.

In the Add Contact screen, enter the contact’s information and then select Done. By default, your presence information is always shared with a new contact if an XMPP address is provided.

If you receive a buddy request, you can ignore or accept it. If you ignore the buddy request, you can always share your presence information later by selecting Subscribe from the buddy contact card. Note that the contact must accept your subscription request for you to establish the presence
relationship successfully.

Add a conference number by selecting the same option Add Contact from plus icon in the navigation bar by typing a conference number. You can also add a conference number from directory search. A conference contact is a special contact used for conference bridges to avoid having to remember a PIN code and a conference number, for example, for a recurring conference.

Add a local contact by selecting the Add Local Contact option using the plus icon in the navigation bar. The Add Local Contact option opens the native Address Book for adding a new contact in the local phone book.

Add a group in contacts list by selecting Add Group using the plus icon in the navigation bar. Type a group name, select contacts that you want to be in the group, and then select Done.

Edit Contacts

Tap a contact entry from the Contacts list to open a contact card. This is the same for presenceenabled and non-presence-enabled contacts.

  • Edit opens the Contact Information dialog box where you can add, edit, or remove information. This works for both presence-enabled and non-presence-enabled contacts.
  • Unsubscribe removes the presence relationship between you and that contact. This means you do not see the contact’s presence information and your contact does not see your information. Select Subscribe to re-establish the presence relationship. An unsubscribed contact remains on
    your Contacts list and is always shown as “offline”.
  • Remove contact removes the contact from your Contacts list.

Filters

There are four contact filters available from the Contacts tab:

  • All – Shows all presence-enabled and non-presence-enabled contacts.
  • Online – Shows only the presence-enabled contacts that are currently online.
  • Local Address Book – Shows the contacts from your local phone book.
  • Directory – Shows the contacts from a company directory (which requires a search).

Contacts sorting and ordering:

  • Local contacts are ordered in groups by letter, based on the first letter of their display name. There is no further ordering within the group.
    All contacts whose display name starts with non-Latin characters are put in the # group.
    The display name of a local contact is taken from first name, middle name, and last name. If names are missing, the display name is taken from the jid field.
    If all of the above are missing, then the phone number is used for display name.
  • All Contacts with Groups are ordered as in the native app, based on the following phone settings: Settings → Mail, Contacts, Calendars → Contacts → Sort Order.

Availability

For each contact you have subscribed to, you can see their availability. Similarly, your contacts can see your availability on their Contacts list.

NOTE: Availability can also be referred to as presence status, which was the term used in previous releases of UC-Tablet.

Availability means that your friends are able to see whether you are available, for example, “I’m available” or “I’m busy”.

Icon What it means
The green availability icon indicates that the user is online and ready for communication
The yellow availability icon indicates that the user is online on their UC-Tablet Desktop client, but has been idle or away from their computer for more than 10 minutes.
The red availability icon indicates that the user is busy and does not want to be disturbed.
The grey availability icon indicates that the user is offline and the only available contact method is calling or chatting.
The question mark indicates that a subscription is pending and the contact has not yet approved to share their availability
This icon indicates that the contact is busy due to a call. This is an automated availability status.
This icon indicates that the contact is busy due to a meeting. This is an automated availability status. The Busy – In Call status overrides the Busy – In Meeting status so this icon is only seen when there is a meeting but no call.

You can set your own availability by tapping on the availability icon from the status bar in all tab views. The availability icon opens the My status screen where you can change your avatar, personal message, and availability status.

Your avatar is the picture that represents you in your friends’ Contacts lists and in chat screens. Tapping on an avatar opens a dialog with options to select an existing image, to take a new one with your device’s camera, or to clear your avatar.

You can enter a status message in the area next to the avatar. This status text is shown in your friends’ Contacts lists.

If you see the error message “Chat Unavailable” under any tab, it means that XMPP connectivity has been lost for chat and availability; however, you can still make calls. In this case, you should contact your service provider.

The availability update is only triggered by appointments and meetings that are either accepted by the user or made by them. All-day meetings do not trigger an availability change to Busy – In Meeting.


Hat Ihnen dieser Artikel weitergeholfen?
Bewerten Sie Ihn:

Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung.

Direktzugriff

Ticket eröffnen Status Kontakt Remote-Support