UC-ONE Clients: Desktop Mac OS & Windows
Menu

Mac OS & Windows - Application or Desktop Share

Application or Desktop Share

To share your desktop or individual application:

  1. In the Communications window (or tab on Chrome), click the Start Share button (Screen Share on Chrome). This does not yet start the “share”.
  2. Select either to share your entire display or one of your open applications and click Start Sharing. On Chrome, click the Start Share button again to select the application and screen to share. The share widget appears to let you control share settings such as Preview that shows you what participants are seeing and Pause that pauses sharing.
  3. To stop sharing, click the Stop icon. While sharing, all other communications mechanisms are also available except for video calling and file transfer. Participants cannot hide a share without closing the Communications window. Video call is also available while sharing.

Desktop sharing works the same way in both MyRoom and the ad hoc sessions. For participants without UC-Desktop, use the separate Desktop Share Invitation link, if available, by right-clicking the MyRoom button.

If you are first in a video call and then start share, your own video is not shown due to limited space available, but you can make it visible using the Main window menu in the bottom right-hand corner by selecting “Show Own Video”.

If you are using dual monitors, you can choose which monitor to share. You can check the primary monitor in the operating system settings.

You can also remove desktop share participants. They are also removed from the group chat at the same time. If needed, the removed participants can join later.

Depending on your service provider settings, you may have to provide desktop share credentials manually.

In addition, participants can share when enabled by the service provider, but the room owner can prevent this at any time.

MyRoom

MyRoom is started by clicking on the MyRoom icon on the left-hand side of the navigation pane. MyRoom is started automatically using your permanent chat room. Add more participants by dragging and dropping them into the Communications window (or tab in Chrome) or the Conference menu, or they can join your room by right-clicking your name on their contact list and choosing the Join Room menu option. Once people have joined the chat room, they can click on the Call button of that window to join the conference. The room owner can also share their desktop.

To use the full functionality of MyRoom (desktop sharing, conferencing, and chat combined), you may have to manually enter your desktop sharing credentials, your conferencing number, and your PIN in the Preferences → Credentials window. This depends on your service provider settings. In addition to the owner of the room, participants can also share the desktop but only the owner can add more participants. This applies to both MyRoom and ad hoc sessions.

  1. To see a Context menu, right-click the MyRoom icon on the left-hand side of the navigation pane (native desktop only).
  2. To modify credentials and conference bridge information, select Configure to go to the preferences. If your service provider has automatic provisioning enabled, then this menu item is not present.
  3. Select MyRoom Invitation (or, for example, Copy MyRoom Link on Chrome) to copy an invitation link to the operating system clipboard (depending on your service provider setup, this menu option may not be available). Paste this link, for instance, to meeting invitation e-mails to allow UCDesktop participants to join the conference in one click from, for example, Outlook or Office applications. Note that some applications may not recognize the UC-Desktop link. You can also copy the MyRoom Invitation to the default email client (this text does not contain the UC-Desktop link) and go to the MyRoom preferences via a right-click menu option.
    The link has two parts: one for UC-Desktop users and another one for users with some other client. Depending on your service provider settings, the invitation can also contain a link to the desktop sharing session. The invitation always contains a dial-in number and PIN for users who do not have UC-Desktop. The desktop share link, when available, allows anyone to join a desktop share session from a standard web browser. In addition, the UC-Desktop group chat session is supported with the web collaboration session. For guest user links, see the next section.

The MyRoom icon also has a tooltip indicating the conference bridge details of your MyRoom. The Communications window also has an icon that provides the same Context menu previously discussed.

For more information on desktop sharing, see section 7 Application or Desktop Share. Desktop sharing works the same way for both MyRoom and the ad hoc sessions.

MyRoom uses your permanent chat room, permanent collaboration room, and conference bridge (audio or video). MyRoom is the only way to use the permanent rooms. Any other multiparty communications, such as selecting multiple contacts, and right-clicking for a conference call, or dragging and dropping for a one-to-one chat, is done using ad hoc rooms. Ad hoc rooms are deleted once the session is over.

All MyRoom sessions start as chats but call and/or share can be added to the session while in progress. File transfer and video conferencing are not supported in MyRoom or ad hoc sessions.

Guest Client

Previously it was not possible to join a full MyRoom session with a web browser. Guest client allows you to do that.

This feature is especially intended for users outside of the company. Generate separate invitations for guest users using MyRoom right-click menu items as described in the previous section. MyRoom invitations are generated using separate menu items and are intended for UC-Desktop users.

Guest users can join a session with audio in the web browser by requesting a callback using the provided dial-in number and conference PIN as well as use group chat and sharing inside the web browser. However, guest clients do not have private chat possibility and they can see the chat history of messages that occurred after they joined the session.

The invitations persist until reset via a separate right-click menu item. Individually accept each joining guest participant. Not doing this in a predefined period of time results in the invitation becoming obsolete and guests not being able to use the link to join.

After dismissing a guest user from share and chat, the audio/video portion can remain. The following OS and browser combinations are supported if Web Real-Time Communication (WebRTC) is disabled by your service provider:

  • Latest Chrome on Windows (Windows 7, Windows 8 [Classic], and Windows 8.1 [Classic]) and OS X (10.8 and 10.9)
  • Internet Explorer 11 on Windows (Windows 7, Windows 8 [Classic], and Windows 8.1 [Classic])
  • Safari 7 on OS X (10.8 and 10.9.)

The following OS and browser combinations are supported if WebRTC is enabled by your service provider:

  • Latest Chrome on Windows (Windows 7, Windows 8 [Classic], and Windows 8.1 [Classic]) and OS X (10.8, 10.9, and 10.10)

For more details on guest client usage, see Appendix B: Guest Client Usage.


Hat Ihnen dieser Artikel weitergeholfen?
Bewerten Sie Ihn:

Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung.

Direktzugriff

Ticket eröffnen Status Kontakt Remote-Support